Escape into a book

I’m a keen reader, to the point my mum is still finding my books in her house. Problem is I have run out of book space at mine, at some point I am going to have to put up shelves dedicated to the numerous books I have.

If I could I would have a room reserved as my own library with nothing but books, a mini fridge and a fire place. So far that thought is just a dream, until then my books will have to continue to take over a corner of my living room and parts of my bedroom and any other space I can make use of.

Everyone has their favourite books, this is my list. They are not in any particular order, they are just books I like to read time and time again and not get bored of them.

It’s quirky, funny chick literature that has me laughing every time I read it.

This book makes me laugh and cry, but still another one of my favourite chick literature books.

I love both the play and the book. It’s not a thick book yet the amount of attention to detail and creativeness lets my imagination run wild enough to scare every time, even when I know what is coming next!

If you’re a Stephen King fan you have to read this book. Yes it has the horror element as expected with Stephen King books but this one is much more. It touches on disability, bullying kids, friendship. My I’m sensitive but I defy anyone with a heart not to shed a tear when reading this.

This is the first book in the Anita Blake vampire Hunter series and still remains my favourite. It’s an introduction into the character Anita Blake and in my opinion an excellent start to the Anita Blake series.

I’ve ready a few books by Tess Gerritsen but this one is a firm favourite. Romance, suspense, murder – perfect.

I have read a number of Kelly Armstrong books but these two are the ones I’ll read over and over again. Ghosts, werewolves, vampires bit of fantasy mixed up with human emotions and mild violence.

  • Snow by Orhan Pamuk

This book was given to me and to be honest would not have been something I would have chosen. However this book is excellent. It has been a while since I last read this book but can still remember the story. It’s about love, popularity, political unrest and misuse of power.

This is a series of short stories. I enjoy reading books written by Jeffery Deaver, but this one in particular is good on a cold rainy evening.

This book was lent to me and then I was hooked on the series. It’s just an all-round nice book about a woman in Africa running a detective agency business whilst sticking to her morals and trying to see the good in people when many of us would have given up a long time ago.

I limited the number down to the above list though there are so many other books that I enjoy reading time and time again like ‘Let The Right One In’.  This book, like many others was turned into a movie. I haven’t seen the movie but with the exception of some books / films such as ‘The Green Mile’, I don’t think books translate well into movies. Fans of the Twilight and Harry Potter saga may disagree with me, but that’s my opinion.

A good writer will be able to draw you into the story. I remember whilst reading ‘The Woman in Black’, I was feeling the sadness and fear of the main character.

The area I live in has a free bookshop that is run on donations. It is excellent for getting people into reading and encouraging children to read. as much as I love to read, it can become an expensive hobby. I’ve recently got into reading books by Dean Koontz. I’ve some of his books to be hit and miss. One of the best things about the free bookshop is I can take as many books as I like, donate some money, read them and return the ones I wasn’t particularly keen on and keep the ones I know I’ll read again.

Be it via a kindle, smartphone, paperback, hardback…happy reading! 😀

One thought on “Escape into a book

  1. Pingback: Escape into a book | foziasaeed | Wordpress Land

Leave a Reply

