Girly cake

It’s been a while since I’ve written about my cakes. I’ve been baking, but for one reason or another I haven’t gotten round to sharing the experiences.

I’ve not covered a cake in fondant icing before so thought I would have a practice. Rolled out the icing, so far so good. Came to covering the cake and it all seemed to be going well till the icing started breaking! I patched up the damaged areas the best I could and 20130428_201213_PinkFlowerCake[1]then covered in little pink flowers. I was told by housemate #2 that the cake looked cute and nice…apparently too girly for the baker aka me! I can do girlie if the occasion calls for it 😉

A few weeks back I had bought some flower paste and had a go at making some cute little roses. I’m getting 20130428_202355_SugarPasteRoses[1]better at these 😀

I’m always finding ways to increase my baking repertoire (it’s not a very long list yet) and had a go making a fondant angry bird character.20130427_094642_AngryBird[1] The beak on the bird is a bit big, apart from that, not bad for my first attempt, even if I do say so myself. 😉

A few weekends back my parents came round to put up a shelf for me, for some reason my mum is still concerned about me using the electric drill by myself :-s A friend had already marked up the holes but I didn’t have the correct drill bit at the time. In return, part assisted by the bread machine I made a plaited bread and gave my parents some to take home. I forgot to take a picture of the whole bread, the need to eat fresh, warm, bread with butter was more important.20130428_201059_Bread[1] When I remembered to document my bread baking-ish attempt there wasn’t much left and no one was ill the next day, double bonus. 😀

Sometimes in the morning I don’t have time to grab breakfast, when this happens banana choc chip muffins are just the thing to keep me going for a bit. I know I have a small stomach to be able to survive on one muffin till about 11am. They tasted nice but were a bit dry. I’m going to try out a different recipe next time.

I was having a bit of a rough week at work, Ben and Jerry alone were not making the cut. Off the new shelf came the baking book and brownie cupcakes were made.

Two weekends ago it was a bank holiday weekend in the UK. The weather for once was surprisingly nice. It still rained but on the whole was sunny.  That weekend my sister asked for a chocolate cake with fresh cream. I haven’t worked with fresh cream before and learnt a few 20130505_104605_ChocCreamCake[2]lessons for next time. I had a bit of a nightmare putting the cream onto the cake, think I had over whipped the cake just before it reached the point of becoming butter. Despite my living room looking like a cake crime scene (this happens almost every time I decorate a cake. :-s) the cake turned out looking better than I had expected, and being full of chocolaty goodness. 😀

I recently signed up for a fundraising pack for the charity Sparks, Bake for Bumps campaign. Found out my manager has ok’d it with the big boss for me to bring cakes to work and ask everyone to donate money in a little box which came in my fundraising pack, in exchange for a cake. I test out my cakes on my work colleagues anyway, just this time they will also have to cough up some money. It’s for a good cause, and cute little babies. The money raised goes to funding medical research ‘…to improve the quality of life for children and families affected by serious illness or disability today, whilst seeking ways to better diagnose, treat and prevent these conditions in the future.’ Honestly who can say no to cute little babies?

3 thoughts on “Girly cake

  1. Pingback: Art Gallery & Birthday Cake | foziasaeed

Leave a Reply

