Sesame Street + Superman = Busy Girl!

Cake baking has been taking over a bit, I hadn’t realised just how time consuming and exhausting this new interest was going to be! I enjoy baking but have also discovered I’m a little bit of a perfectionist, to others something may look brand spanking fantastic, through my eyes it could be simply ‘meh’ with room for improvement, then be a bit disheartened and start over till it is how I want it to be. I wasn’t always like this, I was happy to plod along and as long as the work in question was reasonably decent I would let it pass through. Then the baking thing happened and is slowly becoming more than just something I enjoy doing now and then.

In my last post I mentioned baking a sesame street birthday cake for my friend.  Some people don’t like birthday’s, my friend included. As my sister had her two young boys with her we reverted to child like state and spent some time at Southend’s Adventure island. I stuck with the kiddies rides with my nephews, I have a delicate stomach which just about survived. 20130803_175537_20130804111544510[1]A milkshake, giant waffle and a parking ticket later we wandered to my parent’s house to sing happy birthday to our friend and eat cake! As for my friend she was surprised and pleased with the cake,.

The following day was my kickboxing club barbecue. A friend came along with me, it turned out to be good.  I ate so much food, luckily I was wearing leggings so I could still breathe! Saying that me and my friend did go for dessert afterwards at Chiquitos, it was nice and the service was surprisingly good.

Seeing the sesame street cake I made, a friend at work asked me if I could make a Superman birthday cake for her. Even though time was somewhat against me, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to improve my skills and have another example work. I worked solidly after work for three nights in a row, not going to bed before midnight. 20130808_074917_supermanlogo[1]I did have a few issues with the icing but the20130809_073045_supermancakeTop[1] cake itself turned out well. In my exhausted state I forgot to notice the spelling error in ‘birthday’, and all that saw the cake that day hadn’t noticed either. It was only until another friend mentioned it at work on the Monday. So new rule, when working on cakes don’t work past 11.00!

The social butterfly that I seem to have become of late, I went to a work friends friends wedding reception on a school night. I was a bit tired the following day, it was a good evening though 🙂

I’ve just started reading a book by James Herbert called51t8J2LSiuL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX385_SY500_CR,0,0,385,500_SH20_OU02_48‘, this book is completely holding my attention when I should be sleeping it is also creeping me out a little bit. Guess that’s a sign of a good horror writer. Though set in the past the story line is something that could happen, I think that’s also a reason why the book is having that effect on me. If you haven’t read it yet and you’re into horror books then you definitely have to give this one a go.

2 thoughts on “Sesame Street + Superman = Busy Girl!

Leave a Reply

