Week 3 of cake decorating course

This past weekend’s cake decorating class went well. I definitely need more practice with my piping skills, but I am getting there little by little.20130921_115002_PipingIcingTopCake[1] Although it is a bit of polystyrene I’m thinking of investing in a dummy cake and using it to practice on.20130921_115034_PipingIcingCakeSide[1] Practicing on a flat surface it very different to practicing on a cake, the shape and angles are all different.

Not working on the actual cake just yet, we are still in the process covering the cake in a number of layers of royal icing to get that polished look. This takes a bit of time as we leave the icing to dry ready for the next layer. Have to admit that I am getting better smoothing off the cake, last time my hands wouldn’t spread out enough on the smoother to give an even look, this week my child like hands decided to do as they were told.

Two hours of piping was more than enough as my hands started cramping up. Though I am thinking this could be a nice technique to use on my sister’s baby shower cake (which I will hopefully get round to making!).

As much as I like baking cupcakes and decorating them they can be time consuming whereas muffins, two bowls mix the wet ingredients with the dry using a wooden spoon, spoon into the cake cases and bake for about 20-25 minutes. coffee-cups-for-your-usage_7814Perfect to fix the sugar pangs, and to go with steaming mug of tea. I know I have a tea problem, some would go as far as to say it’s an addiction but who cares, if it gets me to function enough throughout the day that’s good enough for me!

I tried out a cinnamon muffin recipe and brought them into work on Monday. I clearly hadn’t made enough as they were gone within half an hour! I’m going to make up another batch also adding some sultana’s and apple to see how they go.

7 thoughts on “Week 3 of cake decorating course

  1. Must be a growing trend, as I was only just few days ago speaking to someone who was doing this too. It wasn’t you was it? It seems its a good thing to get into, a bit of creativity and get paid for it too. Good job.

    I hope it goes well for you.

    Like

  2. Think it could be the influence of The Great British Bake Off. 🙂 Lol, sorry not this time.
    Whether something more comes of this hobby remains to be seen but for now it’s something I enjoy doing, bit different to my other interests. 🙂
    Hope you enjoyed your venture abroad. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

