Week 4 cake decorating course / Muffin Monday.

This week’s class was spent taking our piping skills to the next level and piping animals and objects out of royal icing using a plain nozzle. From the pictures you can see the teachers duck and swan look very elegant. I was getting the hang of the ducks, but my swan just looked like a creature from another world – a swan with fangs! It all comes down to practice something I need to start doing at home.20130928_120409[1]

Apart from the class which went well the rest of the weekend was a bit of a baking disaster.

Don’t ask me why but I got it into my head that I was going to have a go at making jam. Let’s just say Martha Stewart I’m not! I think I overworked the jam it’s become hard and more like boiled sweets and not the traditional jammy consistency.20130930_Jam[1] It did taste nice before I put it into the jar and became a rock, my next task will be to get it out of the jar!

I experimented with making apple and cinnamon muffins. Tasted ok, bit dry and crumbly. 20130930_SunkenChocMuffin[1]The chocolate muffins, a recipe I found online, well they looked a bit pitiful and the chocolate chips sunk to the bottom but tasted really good. I don’t think my oven was hot enough hence a concave look. I’ve found a new recipe for the apple and cinnamon muffins and will give the chocolate muffin recipe another try.

I normally use the usual self raising and plain flour but one of the girls I work with has a gluten free diet, so I usually have gluten free products lying around. If it wasn’t for the fact that gluten free flour is so much more expensive than normal flour I would probably cook with it all the time. It would make life easier.

I thinking that Mondays are going to be ‘Muffin Mondays’. It would be something to look forward to, if I can get the muffins right. 😉

2 thoughts on “Week 4 cake decorating course / Muffin Monday.

  1. Exactly, can’t beat a nice muffin with tea.
    I don’t always have time for breakfast, muffins are quick to eat on the go. 🙂 Seems muffin Monday may pick up at work, one of my colleagues is hoping to bake and bring in some on Monday.

    Long term, not entirely sure yet. It is something I enjoy and wouldn’t mind it becoming something profitable as a sideline to begin with.
    Guess it’s all about effectively marketing myself at some point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

