1st Birthday party weekend!

I survived the kids party! The weather was pretty shocking Friday night, it had improved by Saturday but the QE2 Bridge was still closed. My sister contemplated whether to still go to the party or not, three kids in the car stuck in potential traffic was not a tempting offer! We braved it and were lucky there was hardly any traffic and the kids slept most of the way.

It was a 1st birthday party and many of the kids there were very young, I managed to keep my demonically cute nephews entertained with a game on my phone and in the process acquired a few more kids. Following the cake cutting the new editions disappeared back to their parents and of course to eat cake! The cake was good 🙂

20140215_DexterBirthdayCakes[1]I made some cupcakes as gifts to give to the parents of the one year old whose birthday it was. It’s a good way to test out the cakes and it was just a nice thing to do. 🙂 I think the parents will be all caked out by now lol

That same morning my housemate told me her boyfriend’s cousin past away. It was a bit of a shock as he was only a few years older than me. These situations make you sit back and think about things, I think I’m doing alright at the moment. Work is ok, it pays for the things I enjoy doing. I do push myself, a bit of a challenge doesn’t hurt anyone. 😉

Climbing

ClimbingWallSunday I was back at climbing. I hadn’t been for about two weeks and missed going. It was exhausting and I managed to climb up one wall that I had been struggling with for ages! My brothers had no problems with this particular wall with them being taller than me did make a difference. By the time I had made it back down and had both feet planted on solid ground I was exhausted but also impressed with myself. I almost forgot, although my wrist strapped up, it’s been a few days now and no aches so far. :-D.

Back home, I had been wanting to try out an eggless cupcake recipe.20140216_EgglessNoIcing[1] I may have slightly overworked the mixture a bit, apart from that the cakes turned out better than I expected, light, spongy, they rose and didn’t sink when they came out of the oven! What the cake lacked in sweetness the buttercream made up for. I’ve being trialing them out on some friends who I know will give an honest critique. There are a few things I will do differently next time, the recipe called for vegetable oil but it made the cakes look dark brown, I’ll try sunflower oil instead.

The next step for me is to decorate some dummy cakes to showcase my decorating skills.

Planning for operation Thomas the Tank Engine cake begins this weekend. 😀

Kickboxing

I thought I’d gone unscathed from Tuesday’s, class. Woke up this morning with the ab area aching, even laughing is causing the worked muscles to react. I must be on my way to getting that 6 pack! 😉

4 thoughts on “1st Birthday party weekend!

  1. I learned this morning that one of my friends had passed away at 2.30 this morning.

    she had been battling cancer for a couple of years and had gone into a hospice at the weekend – the doctors saying she only had a couple of days left

    so her death wasn’t unexpected, but it still makes you stop and think about your own pending mortality !

    Like

Leave a Reply

