What would you give up to have the internet for a year?

Whilst listening to radio as I rushed to get to work, I had overslept and was already late, one of the DJ’s posed a question to his fellow DJ’s and also to their listeners. ‘What would you give up to have the internet for a year?’

I wouldn’t say I am addicted to the internet but then it is said the first step to dealing with your problem is admitting you have one, so I could be addicted but not be aware of it 😉 When I have sat back and thought about my relationship with the internet I didn’t realise how much I use it. Not only do I use the internet on a computer but I also have access via my phone. Like many people I like to use the internet for getting information, writing on my blog, watching catch up TV and yes I do use social media sites. I also use the internet via my phone to play games, use the text messaging app Whatsapp and the satnav function on my phone, very important for someone who has no sense of direction and is pants at reading a map!

If I had to give up the internet I honestly would struggle. But it isn’t impossible, in 2012 Paul Miller left the internet for a year. You can see the results of his year without the internet here.

According to this a study carried in the USA, a large percentage of Americans would give up sex, alcohol, coffee and chocolate before giving up the internet for a year. If I had to give up something for a year I suppose I could give up tea, though I can imagine spending time with me in the the first few tea free days would be more difficult for others around me. 😀

To all you lovely people out there, what would you give up to have the internet for a year?

One thought on “What would you give up to have the internet for a year?

Leave a Reply

