Too much food, scenic route through central London & Father’s day!

The weekend went so quick! I ate far too much food, the sat nav took me the scenic route through central London and it was Father’s day!

20140613_VietKitchen[1]Friday night I met up with some friends for dinner at a Vietnamese restaurant in Colchester called Viet Kitchen. It was a nice little place, the menu was small but that suited us. I liked the starters but wasn’t too keen on my main, I had lemongrass stir fried prawns, it was a bit gritty for me, if I had told a member of staff I think they would have tried to replace it. I liked what my friend ordered, if I go there again I’ll have that instead.

Saturday I drove to see a friend who I now know lives in Surrey, the postcode she gave me sent me to Twickenham, yep she gave me the wrong postcode. We only discovered this after the sat nav had given me directions to drive all through central London, I saw The Ritz, Trafalgar Square, Embankment. I didn’t have a panic attack, cry though I may have wanted to, I did swear a little bit and eventually ended up in Twickenham. There I phoned said friend to let her know I’m lost, from there we discovered the mistake, fortunately I was only 30 minutes away from the correct address. What should have taken me approximately 1 hour 30 minutes took nearly 3 hours. It’s a good thing my friend had a cup of tea and a selection of muffins waiting for me! It’s safe to say the rest of the day went nicely, I tried salmon sushi rolls, these were nice, and a huge bowl of prawn dumplings in broth with salad. I tried using chopsticks but was just embarrassing myself so stuck with conventional cutlery.

Friday was Father’s day, we headed out to Pizza Express for dinner. Skipping lunch is the only excuse I have for eating as much as I did. Normally the mains alone fills me up, not this time. I had starters and a main but opted for a tea with a mini cake for dessert, I was satisfied and also a bit sleepy afterwards. 🙂

The Surrey friend made a very nice rich fudgy chocolate cake which used beetroot as an ingredient. I would not have ever noticed as there was no hint of a beetroot taste. Looks like experimenting baking with beetroot could be next on my list. 😉

I wouldn’t say I’m overly health conscious but I do like having a go at making beauty products. I been wanting to do this for a while now, it was seeing Friday’s friends that encouraged me to go ahead and have a go at making my own body lotions. I found a simple recipe online and ordered the ingredients over the weekend. Will let you know how it turns out, the guys at work have already said they are not willing to play guinea pig. One of the ingredients is beeswax which I found out I can also use to make candles!

So many things to try, so little time! I need to marry into money and become a lady of leisure. 😉

20140616_WorldCupPredictions[1]If you don’t know the world cup is going on, where have you been hiding?

I don’t have a clue about football, it doesn’t interest me in the slightest but in the name of team spirit I’m taking part in the office World Cup Predictions ‘thing’. If anyone has any logic I can attach to this can you let me know by mid-day tomorrow, thanks 😀

Leave a Reply

