What to do?

Ever find yourself in a position where you think something at the time but after you’ve had a moment of clarity then realise it wasn’t as bad as what you thought it was but by then you’ve done something you probably shouldn’t have? I’m having one of those moments.

Without going into too much detail,  I wasn’t completely in the wrong but then again I could have handled the situation a bit better. On the plus side at least I didn’t swear or yell. These days I tend to go quiet, not saying too much. I know this is not the greatest of approaches and my communication skills need work.

The question is how to deal with the situation after the event, when I guess the damage has been done, can it even be fixed?

At some point I am going to have to bite the bullet and speak to this person to apologise for my part, but I only think it’s fair they take some of the responsibility too, sounds a bit like a cop out doesn’t it? We’ll see how things pan out.

2 thoughts on “What to do?

  1. apologies are never easy things to do but I think they’re the best tactic because they ‘disarm’ the other person.

    if they don’t accept the apology then the situation changes from you being in the wrong to them being in the wrong

    an apology is even more effective in disarming the other person if you actually weren’t the one that was at fault because you then appear to be a nice person graciously prepared to take the blame for something that wasn’t entirely your fault and the other person runs the risk of appearing nasty or churlish if they don’t accept your apology

    hope it all turns out ok for you !

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂

      Things didn’t turn out as planned but again after one of those ‘clarity’ moments and the thought of punching some pads helps me see that things have worked out for the best 😀

      Every cloud has a silver lining, my cloud includes boxing gloves lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

