Baked Doughnuts

Like the rest of the country The Great British Bake Off has inspired me to attempt different baking creations one of them being doughnuts.

Doughnuts tend to be fried pieces of dough usually filled with jam or a sugar / ice coated ring doughnuts with the ‘hole’ part of the doughnut also being used to bake doughnut balls.

I like doughnuts as much as the next person but in all fairness what was I going to do with a huge pot of oil once I had fried the doughnuts? Instead I opted to make baked doughnuts which would hopefully look something like their fried equivalent.

Trawling the oracle of all information known as Google I came found this easy to follow recipe from Wright Little Baker. I was a bit dubious at first, not because of the recipe itself more about my limited bread making skills. If anything, my previous attempts to make bread have not been a rip roaring success my last attempt at a cinnamon and sultana loaf could have been used as a door stop!IMG_20140928_163045[1]

I decided to forgo the bread machine and make the dough from scratch, this can be time consuming with all the proving time involved but it is well worth the wait. The injecting of the jam was a bit messy and should have filled the little balls of sugar coated dough with more jam but for a first attempt I don’t think I did too badly.

Ingredients

175ml whole milk
75g golden caster sugar
10g (2 tsp) dried active yeast
425g strong white bread flour
½ tsp salt
2 medium eggs , lightly beaten
75g unsalted butter, softened
4-5 tbsp jam/lemon curdSugar coating
25g unsalted butter , melted
6 tbsp caster sugar
You can find the step by step method here. Forget popping down to your local supermarket, go on and have a go at making your own doughnuts.

Leave a Reply

