Red belt training

Finally, for what seems like forever my awful cough is going! I can actually get a sentence out without suddenly being overcome with the need to cough my lungs out, this cough was most likely linked to an infection that left me feeling exhausted.  Although I wasn’t convinced about the asthma pump I was prescribed I have been using it and it has been helping.

Last night was my first week back at my Thursday kickboxing classes. The first set of crescent kicks to warm up would usually be simple enough, this time I was getting tired quite quickly. It’s not all doom and gloom though, all the single kicks and combinations we were working on were part of the red belt syllabus, guess who’s working towards their red belt? 😉 To top it off my round kicks are not only getting more powerful but I am also managing to kick a bit higher without my hips feeling like they are being ripped apart! Improving my kicks was in part getting the technique right but for most it was all in my head, focusing and finding the confidence to believe I could perform a decent round kick.

No one is a perfect martial artist, we all have our strengths and weaknesses,. My kicks may not be able to take a sparring opponent down but I can use them to help give me an opening to come in with some good punches.

We didn’t work on our punches last night but my instructor knows I can throw out some decent punches, for me to get that red belt it’s the kicks that need work. I’m not going to lie, there is nothing lady like about my expressions and what I would say are growling sounds that come out of me when I getting power in those kicks and punches but knowing I have that strength is a feeling I can’t explain, especially when to many people I look like a delicate flower.

By the end of the class my energy levels were low but it was worth going. I had my asthma pump if I needed it, built up a good sweat to drain out some germs and I get a good nights sleep. Win win situation really 🙂

Since the class was forced to change times to a later slot to fit in with the gym’s schedule our class numbers have been sporadic so it was good to see two new faces. Whether these girls come back next week remains to be seen. I hope they do as it is a good class with a great bunch of people. If you are looking for a martial art class in Essex then check out the Mcallister Academy Of Martial Arts.

Bring on Tuesday for a two hour kickboxing workout!

4 thoughts on “Red belt training

  1. “there is nothing lady like about my expressions and what I would say are growling sounds ”

    oh, Foz, that made me chuckle 😆

    be sure to let us know when you get your red belt !

    Like

    • Lol, it was the only way I could think to accurately describe the expressions and sounds lol

      It won’t be until December so I have a bit of time left to train..fingers, toes, everything crossed! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

