Mobile phone zombie

I know the majority of the world have gone completely gaga over technology. You can control your heating from your mobile phone with Hive, there is the wearable technology such as the Apple Watch, even the possibility of doing your banking via a wearable device.

Fortunately I am not technology obsessed but the other day I shamefully noticed I was texting and walking. Walking aimlessly whilst texting when that message could easily have been sent a bit later, it wasn’t urgent, it wasn’t a matter of life or death but I still had to write and send it at that moment, I had become a mobile phone zombies!  I had to put an end to this before things got out of hand. Mobile phone obsession today, hooked onto Facebook and Tweeting what I had for breakfast tomorrow. No, I had to put a stop to this behaviour, I had to break away from the mobile phone zombie crowd.

So what is the solution? Gradually weaning myself of my phone, not checking it every few seconds to see if I had a text message or checking my apps to see if I had any new updates. It hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be, but then again it has only been one day since I begun the weaning process. I have either left my phone in my bag or in another room so it isn’t there tempting me. It has also meant that if I don’t answer my phone or reply back to some messages straight away my family think something has happened to me, fortunately I have managed to phone within a reasonable time frame before they have phoned the police!

We’ll see how the rest of the week progresses, I’m not confident I will be able to separate myself from my mobile phone but if I can stop myself from checking my phone even few moments, walking and texting  at the same time then that will be a good start, don’t you think?

6 thoughts on “Mobile phone zombie

  1. Being in the moment and in the physical space we’re in seems to be giving way to our gadgets. I’m not a big cellphone user — largely see it as a nuisance rather than convenience! — but I know how easy it is for me to open my iPad wherever I might be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

