Redundancy; It’s not the end of the world!

A few weeks ago I was made redundant.

I would have written sooner about this major change in my life but I have been keeping myself busy with looking for a new job, taking on baking projects as well kickboxing training.ย Being let go from my previous role was the push I needed figure out what it is I want to do, what direction I want to take my life in.

Naturally it is not something anyone wants to happen but in my case it was a positive change. Of course I was upset to be leaving a team I enjoyed working in, it was a team where I felt I fitted and had a good rapport with everyone regardless of personality type. I think they were a bit upset to see me go as well (probably going to miss the cakes!) but also goes to show how well they knew me. When I returned to the office for the final time I was surprised with a gift voucher and an excellent baking book! I have to tell you this book is brilliant, some of the recipes are a bit intricate, I do like a challenge.

Now it is time to move on, I wasn’t going to progress any further within the previous job role, both I and the company knew that and as I was told by the owner of the company when he broke the redundancy news to me, was the main reason for this decision. It’s good to know that at least they didn’t think I was awful at my job or I had a poor attitude, I just didn’t fit in with the direction the company was going in. Nothing personal, just business.

What to do with myself now?

I know I want to be able to use the skills that I have learnt from my old job and develop them further, this would be social media, seo, that world. Also I’m am considering taking my baking to a new level with a little side line business project. I’m still researching this avenue as there are a few things I need to understand and learn. Right now baking is not a money maker for me, it is a part time hobby that has the potential to be more in the future should I want it to be.

For now I would like to say I am enjoying being a lady of leisure but am finding I am more busy these days compared to when I was working. There are just so many things to do, to try, to learn there just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Redundancy; It’s not the end of the world!

  1. sorry to hear you’ve lost your job, Foz – been made redundant a couple of times myself, know how it feels

    hope you find another job soon that you enjoy as much, if not more, than the last !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

