Kickboxing ; Close Quarters

It has been a while since I updated everyone on my kickboxing. As many of you will know I am getting ready for my red belt grading next month. This may not be something every martial club does but part of the Jim Mcallister martial art clubs all those going for grading have to attend close quarters. This class covers for two gradings and involves learning basic first aid and self defence techniques.  Although we are learning kickboxing we are in a controlled environment and usually paired with someone of a similar size / build. Should I ever find myself in a situation where I need to defend myself I hopefully will remember some of the self defence moves taught in the class to escape.

IMG_20141117_082001[1]

IMG_20141117_082954[1]Perhaps kickboxing is not the ideal activity for someone who bruises like a peach but its something I enjoy so deal with the bruises, close quarters was no different. Whilst practicing the self defence moves I was both the ‘attacker’ and the ‘victim’ and we had to be as realistic as possible, hence the bruises that appeared the following day!

I still have a few weeks left to train before grading. Sunday just gone I had a double lesson my legs are suffering a bit today butnothing I can’t handle. Sunday was the day the heavens decided to open up and down came the rain! It was one of those days where you would rather stay indoors curled up with a hot chocolate, but I persevered through the torrential downpour to the extent I nearly drowned my poor car making her drive through large puddles to get to class. See, that’s how dedicated I am. 😉

I am a bit nervous about the grading but I know I have been working hard putting in the time and effort to do the best that I can and I have the bruises to prove it!

7 thoughts on “Kickboxing ; Close Quarters

Leave a Reply

