Homemade facial bronzer

I rarely use bronzer so  didn’t want to spend money on something I occasionally use. The DIY makeup book I got for Christmas came in handy as it had a recipe for homemade bronzer.
Some of you might be thinking why would someone with my skin tone need bronzer? Well, even us Asian girls can look a bit pale and have dull looking skin that needs a bit of help once in a while.

The homemade bronzer recipe I used the end colour was more for someone with a fairer skin tone, I’ve been playing around with the measurements to suit my Asian skin tone and think I’m at a point where I’m happy with it. Next time I think I will either leave out of reduce the amount of corn flour / icing sugar.

img-20170204-wa00031This is the basic recipe for a homemade made bronzer, but if like me you have a darker skin tone you will need to play around with the measurements. I’ve read you can add essential oil then pat it down into a compact case but I haven’t tried this yet. This recipe does contain cinnamon which some people made need to careful of incase their skin reacts to it.

1 tsp Coco Powder ; Gives colour
2 tsp Cinnamon Powder ; Gives the shimmer look
1 tsp Corn Flour / Icing Sugar ; Lightens the coco powder
1/2 tsp Ginger Powder; Not sure what this does, possibly similar to the cinnamon powder.

Mix it all together, the recipe said to put this all into a grinder so it’s all blended together well and a bit more powdery but I don’t have one so crushed it a bit pestle although I think it would be fine as is.
Transfer to a container of your choice and its good to go.

Use this powder sparingly, you don’t need a lot even if you think there isn’t enough on your skin you can go with a gradual build up. Also be careful if you use a makeup setting spray, I make my own with a ratio of 2:1 of rosewater and glycerine, as I found when you go over the top with the bronzer the spray cakes the powder and leaves patches on your face. Not helpful when you are already late for work and have to quickly redo your face because no amount of blending is going to work.

There no harm in giving this a try, and if it doesn’t work you could have a reasonable hot chocolate mix.

One thought on “Homemade facial bronzer

  1. Pingback: Lotions and potions | Fozia

Leave a Reply

