Crumbs away: Shortbread Recipe

20170207_0817211I can’t remember which blog I found this recipe from, but if you recognize it then let me know so I can give you the credit you deserve.
This recipe is simple, straightforward and completely fool proof. This recipe has not ever failed me. Naturally with recipes there is always room to make adjustments but in the case if it’s not broke then don’t fix it!

The original recipe uses a mixture of plain flour and gluten free flour, I rarely have gluten free flour in my cupboards so use all plain flour.

Ingredients

300g Unsalted butter at room temperature
200g Caster sugar
360g Plain Flour
110g Gluten free flour
1/2 tsp Baking powder
a pinch of salt
100g Chocolate chips
Caster sugar for sprinkling

Method

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C / Gas mark 3.

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. You could use a wooden spoon but I usually use a hand mixer.

Sift flour(s), baking powder and salt and mix well. The longer you mix it the better mixture you will get. I start of using a hand mixture then use my hands to make sure all the creamed mixture blends in with the dry ingredients.

Split the dough evenly and add the chocolate chips to one of the doughs. Again mix it well.

The mixture will start to come together. I don’t always use the dough straight away so tend to have it in the fridge until I’m ready to use it. When I want to use the dough I leave the dough out for about an hour to warm up. 

When you roll out the dough, make them approx. 1 cm thick. With the help of cookie cutters cut out your desired shapes. I usually find it easier to roll out the dough between two sheets of baking / greaseproof paper.

Put the biscuits on a parchment paper on a baking sheet and bake towards the bottom of the oven for about 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

Sprinkle caster sugar on the plain shortbread biscuits,  but not on the chocolate ones.

Leave the biscuits to cool. I leave them on the tray until they have firmed up a bit before transferring to a cooling rack.

Once cut out, if you don’t want to cook the biscuits straight away you can freeze them and cook when you next feel like some freshly baked shortbread cookies.

Leave a Reply

