Lotions and potions

cauldron9-240x229I have to use up as much of my annual leave as possible before the new financial year so had a long weekend. My plans for Friday fell through as the weather couldn’t make up its mind what it wanted to do, snow, sleet or rain. This was the perfect opportunity to have another try making some homemade beauty products, the last DIY product I made was a facial bronzer.

You already know about my candle making experiments, I’ve started making notes about what I’m doing and how much essential oil I’m putting into the wax to get a scent when the candle it burned. Think I am nearly at a point where I can start giving friends and family sample to test out.

Lotions and potions

I’m not against using store bought creams, balms etc, I’m a fan of L’Oreal Triple Action face cream even Palmers coco butter body lotion but once in a while I feel like I want to be a bit creative and try something different. Though I will say once I discovered oil cleansing and started making a yoghurt based face wash / mask I haven’t used store bought face wash in at least a year. I can’t completely say that my skin is better just from using alternatives to store bought face wash as I have also started taking vitamins, drinking more water which have also contributed to the current condition of my skin. I do also make a blend of oils which I put on at night instead of a store bought night cream.

img-20170211-wa00111Back on track, I thought I’d begin with making something that was a bit easy to make like a lip balm using beeswax, coco butter and essential oil. The end product did come out a bit firmer than I would have liked but it’s usable and smells nice, might actually be suitable for the lip balm tubes. Next time I will use a bit more oil or less beeswax so it’s a little bit softer.

This is the recipe I worked with but think a bit of tweaking is required.

  • 5g Beeswax (I used pellets)
  • 10g Cocoa butter
  • 5 drops Lavender oil
  • 5 drops Vitamin E oil
  • 5 drops Ylang Ylang oil
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Vegetable Glycerine

Melted the beeswax and coco butter together then added the oils and glycerine. Simple really, just need to work on the measurements.

Whipped body lotion

Feeling a bit more confident I decided to try out a body lotion recipe. I didn’t have all the ingredients listed in my book so looked on the internet about substitutes and alternative recipes. I found this one from Holisticsquid.com. I’m glad I halved the recipe as the original recipe makes quite a lot, even with this amount I was able to put some in small travel pots to give to my family to test out the cream. Below is the full recipe from the website but this does make a lot.

  • 1 cup of Cocoa Butter
  • 1/2 cup Coconut oil 
  • 1/2 cup Jojoba oil or other liquid oil (almond or a mild olive would work great too) I used a mixture of Almond & Jojoba oil, I like the smell of jojoba but didn’t have enough for the cream

Whipped body butter homemade lotion method

  • Using a double boiler gently melt cocoa butter and coconut oil until completely liquid.
  • Stir in jojoba or other liquid oil.
  • Allow to chill in the refrigerator until the oil mixture begins to firm, but has not turned completely solid. This may take longer than you expect – several hours at least. I lost patience and put it in the freezer for abut 20-30minutes, I covered the top of the jug just so nothing would fall into the mixture
  • Using a standing mixer or hand mixer, whip the semi-solid mixture until white peaks form.
  • Scoop into glass jars and allow to chill for an hour in the fridge.

img-20170211-wa00091The recipe called for the mixture to be whipped, I guess you could keep the mixture in solid form but it would be more difficult to get out of the container. Whipping the mixture when it has just set changes its whole consistency, it becomes light and fluffy, the colour even changes from a pale yellow to a marshmallow white whipping the mixture also make it easier to apply to your much. You don’t need to use a lot of the lotion as a little goes a long way, it is oily once you have it on your hands and massage into your body but this is absorbed by your skin you don’t have a greasy residue. As a first attempt I am quite pleased with the lotion so far, it’s only been a few days. I will play around with the recipe and try different oils and butters (shea butter) when I have some free time on my hands again.

 

Cauldron image used can be found here.

Leave a Reply

