Will changing my morning routine give me more spare time?

Whilst browsing through my LinkedIn newsfeed I came across the article titled ‘You’re wasting your spare time and it’s killing your success‘ by Tim Denning. Although I’m not completely convinced by all the changes the author has implemented in his life to make him more productive I am interested in trying to implement the whole getting a better nights sleep and getting up earlier and using that time productively. I don’t think I can give up television or caffeine completely and apart from the odd slip up and binge weekend I do try to eat healthily. At the moment I don’t think I can get out of bed a full hour earlier than usual so am going to try and gradually ease myself in by starting with getting up 30 minutes earlier.

Tuesday 25 July

Alarm goes off at 6.30 and struggled to get out of bed

But the light shining through my window at about 5.20 waking me up meant I wasn’t fully asleep when the alarm went off.

  • I managed to tidy a few things in bedroom where I had left things strewn around in exhaustion from the night before. I had gone to a different body combat class, lets just say my stamina needs a bit of work hence the exhausted / my body is broken feeling.
  • Did morning yoga video.
  • Was showered and dressed in record time.
  • It’s usually too early for me to have breakfast, I generally have some milk to tie me over until I get to work.
  •  I was all ready to leave for work with at least an extra 30 minutes to spare, something I don’t usually have. In that time I was able to get petrol and check the tyre pressure on my car and was still at work 15 minutes early. Enough time to get myself settled and ready for the working day.

Wednesday 26 July

Things are not going well

Alarm went off and I’m still half asleep. Rolled out of my bed and rolled out my yoga mat for a wake me up morning yoga session. Maybe it is just me but in those short minutes of yoga I did manage to wake up enough to not want to crawl back into bed. I thought about switching my laptop on and doing a few things but realised there wasn’t really a lot of time to do what I was thinking of doing so decided to read a chapter of a book I recently got called ‘My soul to keep‘ by Jackie Sonnenberg, I’ll write a review once I’ve finished it.

By now I was fully awake and ready to get on with the rest of my morning routine. I was at work early and seemed to be in a bit of a hyper mode, my mood levels were at a high. Not sure if this was because of my new morning routine where I didn’t have to rush around and had extra time for myself. Lets see how the rest of the week goes.

Thursday 27 July

It wasn’t a great start.

The night before I did fall asleep whilst reading at a reasonable time, however despite being July the winds picked up and my guttering needs repair, so loose guttering plus strong winds made a lot of noise right outside my bedroom window.  I woke up again at 12.30, read a bit more and resorted to putting cotton wool in my ears which helped me get a few hours sleep at least. This guttering debacle, weather permitting will get sorted out this weekend so I can continue with this experiment without looking like an extra from The Walking Dead, which defeats the purpose of

Alarm goes off, bleary eyed and pressing the snooze button did cross my mind before deciding against it and crawling out of bed. Opened the curtains and rolled out the yoga mat ready to start my day. I didn’t get much else done this morning other than the usual getting ready for work as my movements and energy to do things was a lot slower this morning. I managed to do some food shopping before work.

Friday 28 July

Finally, I’m finding getting up at 6.30 easier!

This morning alarm went off and I was up and out of bed, yoga mat rolled out and ready to go on with a stretch here and there. Relaxed a bit before I washed and dressed for work. This is how crazy I think I must be, I had plenty of time this morning and decided to clean my kitchen sink and scrubbing away the lime scale & and tea stains. Of all the things I could have done with the extra time this morning I decide to clean the kitchen sink! At least it is one thing of my to do list.

Saturday 29 July

Still up early bright eyed and bushy tailed!

With it being a Saturday I wasn’t sure if I would make it out of bed but the alarm went off usual time and I was up and doing my morning yoga routine. I even managed to get a few things done around the house all before 9 am. This left me with approx. 1.5 hours spare before a body combat class at 11.

Sunday 30 / Monday 31 July

These two days I failed miserably

The late night Saturday didn’t help hence the 7.30 start on Sunday, I would say I’m allowed a cheat day. I managed to get a few things that morning that will save me time and not be rushing around. There were a few family drama’s that Sunday which resulted in myself and my partner being at the hospital late Sunday afternoon until about 7.30. Those who know me well know that I don’t eat much take away but by the time I got home I was too exhausted to even cook dinner and resorted to a McDonalds. I know it’s not the healthiest of meals but needs must and I needed something convenient. To top it all off the dodgy guttering still didn’t get repaired, lets hope there aren’t any hurricanes in the near future. We might be heading into August, month of the school summer holidays but also lets not forget we live in the UK and the weather doesn’t care what season it’s meant to be, if it wants to hailed down torrential rain in July then it will.

Come Monday morning and I’m still drained, skipped the 6.30 alarm and morning yoga instead getting up at 6.50. I was a bit concerned about looking like an extra from The Walking Dead where they have just been turned into the zombie and that was with makeup!  Lets see if I’ll have recovered by Tuesday and be able to go back to the routine.

Tuesday 01 August

I started of this experiment quite well

Waking up earlier, morning yoga, feeling relaxed. But the past few days I have fallen of the wagon, not enough sleep, not sticking with the morning routine and running the risk of falling back into old habits.

Today was a bit different, I got up early to go and meet a friend for breakfast before work. The food itself was so so, but the company as always was worth dragging myself out of bed for.

Conclusion

Will I stick with this new morning routine?

I’ve only stuck with it for a week to see how I would fare, I need to stick it out a bit longer to see what the long term effects will be. What I did discover is that waking up earlier in the mornings wasn’t easy, it was the initial being woken up by the alarm that I struggled the most with. Most days by the time I had finished the yoga routine I was more alert.

All in all I do think this little experiment taught me that with a bit of organisation I do have more time to get things done. I also found that;

  • I felt a lot better within myself and how I approached the day
  • I slept better
  • Had more energy

Lets see how long I can keep this up, at the moment the morning aren’t as cold so the temptation to stay wrapped up in the warm duvet isn’t there yet.

Leave a Reply

